The District Police Gujranwala is working as an integral unit of Punjab Police. The head of District Police Gujranwala is an officer of SSP rank called CPO (City Police Officer). Whereas, in other districts of Gujranwala Region, head of district police is an officer of SP/SSP rank called DPO (District Police Officer). Gujranwala Police divided into 30 police stations. The head of each police station is an officer of the rank of Sub-Inspector /Inspector, called SHO (Station House Officer). A group of police stations constitute a police Sub-Division which is supervised by an officer of the rank of Assistant/ Deputy Superintendent of Police (ASP/DSP). Similarly, an officer of SP rank supervised the command of his division consisted of 3 or more Sub-Division. Mr. Muhammad Waqas Nazir is currently heading City Police Gujranwala.